cogito ergo vagus

October 2, 2007

Hardware And Software Bonanza Coming Up

Filed under: computers,gadgets,linux,open source,windows vista,wishlist — vagus @ 10:08 am

A bunch of new GNU/Linux distributions’ releases are coming up and will coincide with my plans to buy a new desktop and a new tablet PC for home use.

OpenSuse 10.3 is coming October 4th, Ubuntu 7.10 (codename: Gutsy Gibbon) is coming October 18th and Fedora 8 is coming November 8th. I plan to install and play with each one and decide on which distro to settle. My current preference is Ubuntu even though I like KDE better than GNOME. I’m currently running Ubuntu “Gutsy” Beta on my home desktop and “Feisty Fawn” (Ubuntu 7.04) on my work desktop and am very impressed with things.

Each of these three “distros” will offer the option of a single Live-CD based installation with either GNOME or KDE, so you’re spoiled for choice here.

On top of that, soon I’ll be buying an HP Pavilion “ultra portable” tablet PC (model tx1201au or tx1218au) which comes with Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit. With Vista SP1 coming soon, with all it’s performance and reliability fixes, it should be fine for my mom and aunt to work with.

The tablet PC’s specs are AMD Turion 64 X2 dual-core 1.8 GHz CPU, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB Hard Disk, Lightscribe DVD writer, 12.1 inch touchscreen LCD at 1280 x 800 resolution, onboard nVidia GeForce Go 6150 video (runs AERO Glass), Fingerprint reader, Webcam and Altec Lansing speakers.

Sometime early next year, in the January to April timeframe, I’ll be buying a new desktop PC for home. The specs I’m thinking about are a quad-core CPU: Intel’s Core 2 Quad Q6600 or AMD’s new Phenom X4 if it’s price/performance is comparable to the 2.4 GHz Q6600, 2 GB RAM, 200-300 GB Hard Disk, DVD writer, 19 inch LCD at 1280 x 1024 and maybe an NVidia GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB video card. I really want to get Dell’s 24 inch widescreen LCD at 1920 x 1200 “full HD” resolution but I can’t justify the expense, even to myself :-) I plan to purchase Windows Vista Ultimate Edition, which should hopefully be cheaper than it is now and come with SP1 by then, and dual-boot it with Linux; probably Ubuntu 8.04 codenamed: Hardy Heron!

Then there’s my five year old Sony VAIO laptop which I plan to flatten (reformat the hard disk) and will try to triple-boot with the Fedora, OpenSuse and Kubuntu betas and use it as a test machine. It’s a P4 1.6 GHz, 512 MB RAM, 30 GB Hard Disk, discrete ATI Radeon Mobilty M7 with 32 MB video RAM, DVD-reader/CD-writer combo drive and a beautiful 16.1 inch LCD at 1600 x 1200. I just have to get it repaired because the RAM slots are loose (doesn’t detect one of the 256 MB RAM chips sometimes) and the battery needs to be replaced.

After all this, if I’m not totally broke and penniless, I might get a Pocket PC mobile phone (O2, HTC or i-mate) after Microsoft releases the next version of Windows Mobile which is codenamed Photon I believe.

So, yes, it’s a computer hardware and software bonanza for me in the coming months and I drool just thinking about these plans!

edit:

There was a Slashdork post today about the best mobile platform for the hobbyist developer, which points to this blog post which concludes that Windows Mobile SDK is good.

edit:

Added webpages of my Linux tests on my desktop and HP Pavilion tx1302au tablet PC.

1 Comment »

  1. stay with HTC when it comes to windows smartphones.

    Comment by sushubh — October 2, 2007 @ 10:16 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

